School Leadership Team

  SLT meetings for the 2023-2024  School Year

                                                                                                                School Leadership Team (SLT) Members                                                                                                                  

Carmen Torres -President

Graceann Faulkner-Co-President

Christine Dai -Parent

Maureen McGarvey -Parent

Kasia Malinowski- Parent

Gina Sclafani- Parent

Agata Mojica- UFT

Jennifer Farley-UFT

Victoria Kataev- UFT

JoAnn Trani-Principal

Eva Petrolekas-Assistant Principal

Meeting - December 14th - 3:30pm at PS/IS 128 - 6910-65th Drive

                                                                                                                September 2023 Minutes

SLT Minutes – 9/20/23

1. We will now be offering the Regents exam to all the classes in 8th grade.

2. Envision Math will be used in 8th grade now.

3. Funds so far have been used for supplies – Access to Envision Math, HMH – full online access, after school programs etc. We ordered lots of material last spring for various subject areas. Materials are still coming in.

4. The Horizon program started in our school – beginning with 6th grade.

5. The DOE visitor policy is still in place – please send an email prior to visiting the school – there is still only one safety agent.

6. Double and triple parking during the AM drop off and PM pick up.

7. Cell phone policy is still in place – same as agreed upon last year. One warning and then the phone is taken away and must be picked up by a parent.

8. Dress code policy and proper shoes must be worn.

9. Times and dates for future meetings

10. Thursdays at 3:00 PM will be our meeting set times moving forward.

11. October 19th at 3PM will be our next meeting.

12. Concerns with class placements – teachers are the ones who work on placing the students for the following year based on various components.

13. Due to the number of classes we currently have for each grade the honors program technically does not exist for grades 6 and under.

14. We had our first PTA meeting this week and our fall festival is coming shortly.

15. “Honors” classes no longer exist but that has nothing to do with student performance but rather our currently small student population.

16. Supply lists should be updated or “suggested only” since some students may not necessarily have that class but changes in programming constantly take place.

17. Concerns dismissal of the small children and small doorways.

18. Greater Ridgewood has started this week.

19. Further guidance will be sought to make sure meeting minutes align with distribution to the public and PTA.

20. Bathroom policies for certain teachers are limited – please reach out to your child’s teacher for their individual bathroom policies. Staff members do monitor the hallways almost every period of the day.

Parent Teacher Association

PTA Board Members 2023 -2024

Co Presidents

Carmen Torres

Graceann Faulkner

Co 1st Vice Presidents

Caroline Baretta

Merima Asanovic

2nd Vice President

Nilifar Akkas

3rd Vice President

Deanna Zito


Maureen McGarvey


Kasia Malinowski


 PS/IS 128 PTA  email-

Meeting Dates 

Monday, January 8th, 2024

Monday, February 5th, 2024-In-person

Monday, March 4th, 2024

Monday, April 1st, 2024

Monday, May 6th, 2024

Monday, June 3rd, 2024-In-Person Voting

There will be a PTA meeting Monday November 6th 7pm via Zoom. 

You are invited to a Zoom meeting.

When: Nov 6, 2023 07:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Register in advance for this meeting:

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

October 2023 Minutes

SLT Minutes: Thursday, 10/19/23

Arrival and dismissal

1. Arrival and dismissal concerns: Early morning arrival is at 7:30-8:05 (2- minute transition needed before letting students in at 8:10)

2. Double parking, triple parking, and illegal U-turns are a safety concern for staff and students.

3. Potentially close the street for 20 minutes (Juniper Valley Road—road where bus route is)

4. The local police department has been notified

School Lunch

5. Quantity (Portions) and taste of school lunch: Being worked on by Ms. Pierson (Manager)

· Are there any guidelines for portioning based on grade/age?

6. Share table: Wrapped food or anything with a hard peel that will be thrown out to avoid waste. (Additional for food for students who need it)

Health Screening

7. Screening for migrant students: Students must register and are required to provide immunization documentation. Students must show documentation within 30 days of attending school.

8. DOE open arms: All students are accepted. Personal information cannot be shared.

9. Zoned students will all have a spot at our school—migrants do not interfere with that.

Multilingual Program

10. Should we offer more than one language (Spanish currently being offered for 6-8)?

11. Certified teachers needed to teach these courses – budget concerns.

Additional Programs (Academic)

12. Additional programs to support academics (Special need and Gen. Ed.) instead of language programs

13. Dual language program? A survey out during this time—there was not a large interest in it at that time (2018-2019) -- The 50/50 program would also bring in students from different zones.

14. Intervention Programs: TBD (Budget)

15. Orton Gillingham (Training received for some teachers)

16. Lexia Program (Purchased)

Parent Teacher Conference

17. Date changed to Thursday, December 7th (Virtual)

18. Parents can make an appointment during the weekday to meet in person.


19. Unknown until the beginning of November


20. A request was put in last year, but they did not need the space. Ms. Trani will continue to put requests in since we have the space.

Possible after school programs

1. Academic Intervention?

2. Possible second language clubs?

3. Dual language programs in the future for the school?

4. Teacher availability?

5. Per-session (overtime) pay for teachers would be necessary


1. We have the allocations, but no dates have been agreed upon yet

2. Auditorium – new flooring, sound system

3. Playground - new equipment

4. Gym

Coat Drive and Food Drive

1. We hope that dates for collection will be agreed upon

2. Possibly we can set up boxes in our school for donations of coats as well as non-perishable food

By laws

1. We will meet every 3rd Thursday of the month

2. Time will be 3 PM